Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

On day 2 of our tennis journey, once again we hit the practice courts. The only one we recognized was Dominika Cibulkova so we headed to the players area. The buzz was Novak Djokovic who just won his match. The crowd thought he would come out of the locker room. He never did.

I’m not sure who the player is on the left picture above. Next to him is Xavier Malisse. Although he never spoke to the fans or smiled, he always stopped to sign tennis balls. Picture below is Carla Suarez Navarro.

The evening session match was Maria Sharapova vs. Gisela Dulko, which Sharapova easily won.

Next up was Andy Murray vs. Guillermo Garcia-Lopez. What an explosive match as Murray tried to stay alive. He lost miserably! I guess he hasn’t gotten over his defeat to Roger Federer just weeks ago in Dubai.

In my last post, BNP Paribas Open 2012: Day 1, I forgot to mention that we also saw young American, Donald Young and Jo-Wilfred Tsonga. But most notably, one out of my thousand wishes came true on our first day at the tennis garden. In a brief moment, I met Svetlana Kuznetsova. She snuck out of the crowd but we caught her just in time. We got her autograph, and ridiculous to say, my camera failed me. I love her strength and tenacity; I believe she will win another big match before she even considers retiring.

